Skip to content

Nick Faldo to host DP World Tour's British Masters at The Belfry  

It didn’t take long for Sir Nick Faldo to find his next job in golf after his retirement from TV last year. For now til 2028, Nick Faldo will be host of DP World Tour's Betfred British Masters.

In the late 80s and early 90s, Nick Faldo was considered the No. 1 golfer in the world. He is often referred to as “Sir Nick Faldo” in honor of his outstanding golf achievements. He is also the only British golfer to be knighted by Queen Elizabeth II, becoming an honorary member of the Royal Golf Club of St Andrews.

In 2022, after 16 years working for CBS and Golf Channel, Faldo decided to retire, leaving many fans regretted. Recently, Sir Nick Faldo has returned with news, he will be the host of Betfred British Masters until at least 2027.

Sir Nick Faldo will become the host of Betfred British Masters

Betfred British Masters will be held on the iconic Brabazon Course at The Belfry for the next four years, where 2027 is currently unconfirmed. It is also the site of the former Ryder Cup.

The legend of Faldo himself had many attachments to The Belfry. The English golfer has played three of the four Ryder Cups held here – in 1985, 1989 and 1993, winning once and drawing once.

The British Masters returned to the DP World Tour schedule in 2015. Faldo was Sandy Lyle's runner-up in 1988, before winning in 1989 when the event was held in Woburn.

“I’m very honored to have some very exciting news. Next year the Betfred British Masters will be hosted by yours truly, Sir Nick Faldo,” he said in a video released on Twitter. “It will be played at The Belfry, I’ve got lots of fun, happy memories there from the great Ryder Cup days. I will be hosting it for the next five years, so I’m sure we’re going to have a great field.”

British Masters returns to DP World Tour schedule in 2015

Since returning to the DP World Tour schedule after a seven-year absence due to lack of sponsorship, the Betfred British Masters have been held at six venues - all in the UK - by six different hosts, Faldo being the seventh.

Danny Willett (2021-22), Lee Westwood (2017, 2020), Tommy Fleetwood (2019), Justin Rose (2018), Luke Donald (2016) and Ian Poulter (2015) have all previously served as tournament hosts. Recent British Masters champions at The Belfry include Thorbjorn Olesen in 2022 and Richard Bland, who in 2021 at 48 years old won his first DP World Tour event in his 478th career start.

2 liked148 views

Other Articles